My Favorite Places in Philly

I came across a blog that talks about everything Philly, and I think this is my favorite blog ever. Emily, founder of Her Philly, gives great and useful advices for living in Philly and

She recently posted a blog post about her favorite places in Philly and I thought it will be a great idea to piggyback off that and make my own list of favorite places in Philly.

 

Brunch

 

My favorite meal is brunch. All of my friends know that I live for brunch. Since I have tried many brunch places, it was hard for me to list my top three brunch spots. Many brunch spots are very similar in terms of the menu and the price. However, the three places I listed below stands out the most:

 

The Dutch (1527 S 4th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147)
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Ana Banana Pancakes

The Dutch is a new brunch restaurant that opened in the summer. The restaurant is small is cozy and they offer outdoor seating. I got their Ana Banana Pancakes – it is probably one of the best pancakes I have ever had in the life.

 

Aksum (4630 Baltimore Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19143)
fullsizerender
Almond Crusted French Toast

Aksum is a hidden gem. This brunch spot is also small but it definitely has a different vibe than the Dutch. If you know me, whenever I go to brunch, I always get the french toast.I had the Almond Crusted French Toast and it is probably the best French toast I have ever came across. It is perfectly sweet and it is topped with fresh fruits, vanilla bean crème, and warm maple syrup.

 

Porto (1301 S 11th St, Philadelphia, PA 19147)
Processed with VSCO with wwf preset
Croissant French Toast

Porto is a local favorite. I remember coming here once it opened because by noon, the wait would be up to 1 hour. I got their Croissant French Toast. Two of my favorite things combined! I remember it being so good that I finished my plate within 10 minutes.

 

Lunch & Dinner

When there’s no brunch, there’s lunch and dinner. Here are two of my go-to places:

 

Banana Leaf (1009 Arch St, Philadelphia, PA 19107)
screen-shot-2016-12-06-at-10-46-13-am
Roti Canai

Image Source

Located in Chinatown, Banana Leaf is the go-to place for anyone that is craving Malaysian food. Whatever you order, it will be good and the prices are affordable; you can literally get a meal for under $10. If you do try it, you must get the roti canai (Indian pancake). Trust me, you will want to get it, and you can thank me later.

 

Sampan (124 S 13th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107)
7752293092_8c90f023a7_k
Banh Mi

Image Source

If you are feeling fancy, you should go to Sampan. Located in center city, this Asian fusion restaurant is the go-to place. The food here is absolutely delicious. However, the prices aren’t as affordable compared to Banana Leaf. My pro-tip for you all is come during happy hour. Their happy hour menu is probably the best in the city. Usually happy hour menus have two-four food items but Sampan’s happy hour menu has the most food choices. I recommend the pork bao bun and the kimchi fried rice.

 

Dessert

You always have to save room for dessert. You can always order dessert at the end of dinner but I highly recommend going somewhere else that specializes in dessert to get dessert.

 

Teassert Bar (227 N 10th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107) & Big Gay Ice Cream (521 S Broad St, Philadelphia, PA 19147)
Teassert Bar
HK waffle with Thai ice cream @ Teassert Bar
Big Gay Ice Cream
Vanilla cone with nilla wafers @ Big Gay Ice Cream

My first two favorite dessert places are my go-to ice cream spots. If you want to see my in-depth list of go-to ice cream places, check it out here. It is safe to say that anything you get from here is safe. The taste of the ice cream is light and creamy. And the portions are huge.

 

TeaDo (132 N 10th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107)
img_4687-jpg
Thai Bubble Tea

When I don’t have the mood for ice cream, I will go get bubble tea. There are so many bubble tea spots in Chinatown but this is one of my go-to spot for it (check out my other go-to bubble tea spots). I always go for their Thai bubble tea or the Grasshopper. I highly recommend those two drinks.

 

And that’s my list of favorite places in Philly based on some of the categories from Emily’s post. Now it’s your turn – let me know your favorite places in Philly.

 

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Places in Philly

Leave a Reply

